Congratulations to Hanna Mohammed and Ethan Krumins from Ashfield Boys High School and to Varun Laal and Selina Jin from Marrickville High School on being recognised as this year's Summer Hill Secondary School Leaders by the New South Wales Parliament.

The Secondary School Leadership Program recognises the important role school leaders play in their school communities and provides them with the opportunity to visit New South Wales Parliament and to learn about the parliamentary process.

As part of the program, students observed parliamentary debates from the gallery, spoke with members of Parliament and met with Her Excellency the Governor at Government House.

I thank Hanna, Ethan, Varun and Selina for the fantastic work they have done for their school communities. They are rising stars.

I also thank the exceptional educators at Ashfield Boys High School and Marrickville High School for providing such an important opportunity for those young leaders of tomorrow.